Verriest Medal

Last modified: August 16, 2016

The award was established in 1991 in memory of the founder of the Society, Dr. Guy Verriest, and honors outstanding contributions in the field of color vision.

We  are pleased to report that the 2017 Verriest Medal will be awarded to:

Prof David H Foster

University of Manchester, UK

Prof. Foster’s distinguished career epitomizes the multidisciplinary nature of vision research. It began at Imperial College, London where he studied physics and went on to do a Ph.D. in vision with W. D. Wright in the Applied Optics Section. He subsequently held posts at Imperial College (Department of Physics), Keele University (Department of Communication and Neuroscience), Aston University (Department of Vision Sciences), and the University of Manchester (initially in the Institute of Science and Technology, Department of Optometry and Neuroscience). He is currently Professor of Vision Systems and Director of Research in the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering at the University of Manchester.He is a fellow of the Institute of Physics and the Optical Society of America.

Prof. Foster’s research has advanced our understanding of colour vision for over 35 years. His studies of colour constancy report landmark discoveries. The breadth of his contributions includes work on rod-cone interactions, colour vision deficiency, colour perception of natural scenes and hyperspectral imaging. In addition to his own research, he has tirelessly nurtured the entire field of visual science, most notably as a co-founder and longtime editor-in-chief of Spatial Vision and as an editor, senior editor and since 2013 the editor-in-chief of Vision Research.

List of previous Verriest medalists:

  • 2015 John S. Werner
  • 2013 Françoise Viénot
  • 2011 Steven K. Shevell
  • 2009 Gerald H. Jacobs
  • 2007 Barry B. Lee
  • 2005 John Mollon
  • 2003 André Roth
  • 2001 Donald I. Macleod
  • 1999 John Krauskopf
  • 1997 Jack Moreland
  • 1995 Vivianne C. Smith and Joel Pokorny
  • 1993 Marrion Marré
  • 1991 Harry Sperling